Charlotte-DeSoto Building Industry Association announces 2022 Award Winners

Charlotte-DeSoto Building Industry Association announces Award Winners

In December, the Charlotte-DeSoto Building Industry Association Awards Committee announced the following winners of the annual builder, sub-contractor, associate and member of the year award. Awards were presented by the 2022 Awards Chair Caryn Huff -Sufferling, Wharton Smith

Builder of the Year was awarded to Justin Robbins, DR Horton. Justin became involved in the CDBIA when he joined DR Horton in 2018. He was installed on the CDBIA Board of Directors in 2019. In 2021, Justin was the Top Spike for the CDBIA. After the hurricane, Justin came to the CDBIA and donated a truckload of tarps to help our community. He has been dedicated to building SWFL.

Associate of the Year was awarded to Kris Proudfoot, Centennial Bank. Kris is a board member of the CDBIA and serves on the CDBIA Professional Women in Building Council. She has been dedicated to welcome new members, and guests at our meetings and when prices started increasing on supplies, Kris was the first person to let our industry know of loans available that accept escalation clauses.

Sub-Contractor of the Year was presented to Chris Hege, Elite Hurricane Home Protection. Chris joined the CDBIA family and immediately started getting involved and mentoring, especially with the CDBIA NextGen Council. He has dedicated staff to helping many residents to preparing for the storm and post clean up.

The Top Spike for 2022 is Suzanne Graham, Massey Services.. The Spike Club is a committee at the National Association of Home Builders. Locally members attain spike points when recruiting and retaining members to the CDBIA family. Suzanne earned 20 spike points this year and is the overall Top Spike with 529.50 points!

The Young Building Professionals award was presented to Chris Allen, Allen Wrench Plumbing. Chris is a true representation of the image of understanding the construction industry. Born and raised in Port Charlotte, Chris worked for members of the CDBIA before becoming a plumbing contractor and opening his own company. His drive and passion for customers as well as mentoring more people to come into the construction industry.

Sunniland Roofing Supplies was the proud recipient of the CDBIA Circle of Excellence award which is presented to one CDBIA associate member for doing a high percentage of business with CDBIA members and utilizing the benefits of their membership from Charlotte– DeSoto Building Industry Association, Florida Home Builders Association and National Association of Home Builders and sharing information about the CDBIA on social media. 2022 has been the year of the roof. Jeff and his team have been dedicated to the CDBIA members and their customers. Even before the storm, Sunniland Roofing Supplies were able to maintain and deliver roofing supplies timely to many customers. Opening just 2 days after the storm, they were able to get additional shipments to help our community rebuild.

The P.A.L.M Award was presented to Rick Kipper, Chenango Building Supply. Our Gene Extejt Golf Tournament needed a new chair and Rick stepped up, helping raise enough money to present up to 18 Tools of thee Trade Scholarships!

Bob “the Builder” Miller, Boyette & Miller Construction and Development, was awarded the President’s Award by 2022 CDBIA President Jim Weisberg, Quality Homes of Port Charlotte

Member of the Year was presented to Blair McVety, Charlotte County Seawalls. Blair was CDBIA President in 1997. In 2015, Blair joined the board to be able to offer insight, historical knowledge and mentoring of many of our leaders. A strong recruiter in growing the CDBIA family his love and dedication has helped the CDBIA become a stronger association.

In memory of one of the leaders of the CDBIA, the E. Jay Carlson Award was presented this year to Tom Thornberry. Tom started attending meetings at the Five County Home Builders Association. When Charlotte started their own charter, Tom Thornberry joined the Charlotte Builders and Contractors Association. He started attending meetings at the Florida Home Builders Association after joining the CDBIA, and in 2003 and was sworn in as the FHBA 2nd Vice President, the highest position for any associate member in the state, the first member of our association to hold this prestigious position.

Tom was the first member to become a senior officer at FHBA, and 6 leaders have followed in his path, with a 7th one running for office this year. Tom was a founding member of the FHBA Foundation which became the Future Builders of America and has been one of the biggest supporters in mentoring leaders and students and loves saying just about every successful plumber in town has worked for him!

During Tom’s leadership at FHBA, Hurricane Charley devastated our community and Tom used his connections and leadership to be able to help get valuable resources we needed to rebuild.

In 2020, Tom retired and sold Charlotte Plumbing, but he has remained involved in the CDBIA and FHBA, mentoring members and still finding his seat behind the grill preparing for our cookouts. In 2021 Tom was the 3rd member to ever be named a life member of the CDBIA and now is the fourth member to receive the honor of receiving the E. Jay Carlson award.


Please help us congratulate our winners. For more information about the CDBIA the 2022 awards winners, please visit