E. Jay Carlson Award

E. Jay Carlson Award

2022: Tom Thornberry

In memory of one of the leaders of the CDBIA, the E. Jay Carlson Award was presented this year to Zac Extejt, Charlotte County Seawalls.

Jay Carlson dedicated his life to the building industry. He was a leader who gave us a strong foundation. His legacy will continue on with future leaders in the industry. That is The Carlson Way.

Tom Thornberry started attending meetings at the old 5 counties. When Charlotte pulled away to start their own charter, Tom Thornberry joined the Charlotte Builders and Contractors. He started attending meetings at the state immediately and in 2003, Tom was sworn in as the FHBA 2nd Vice President, the highest position for any associate member in the state.

Tom was the first member to become a senior officer at FHBA, and 6 leaders have followed in his path, with a 7th one running for office this year. Tom was a founding member of the FHBA Foundation which became the Future Builders of America and has been one of the biggest supporters in mentoring leaders and students.

One badge of honor Tom loves to shout out is that just about every successful plumber in our community had worked for him.

During Tom’s leadership at FHBA, Hurricane Charley devastated our community and Tom used his connections and leadership to be able to help get valuable resources we needed to rebuild.

In 2020, Tom retired and sold Charlotte Plumbing, but he has remained involved in the CDBIA and FHBA, mentoring members and still finding his seat behind the grill preparing for our cookouts.

In 2021 Tom was the 3rd member to ever be named a life member of the CDBIA.

And this year, we honor Tom Thornberry with the E. Jay Carlson award.

Past Recipients of the E. Jay Carlson Award

Year         Member
2021 Zac Extejt
2020 Jim Sanders
2019 Odette Embury