Charlotte-DeSoto Building Industry Association announces 2023 Award Winners

Charlotte-DeSoto Building Industry Association announces Award Winners

At the CDBIA Installation & Awards Banquet, the Charlotte-DeSoto Building Industry Association Awards Committee announced the following winners of the annual builder, sub-contractor, associate, young professional and member of the year award. Awards were presented by the 2023 Awards Chair Jim Weisberg, Quality Homes of Port Charlotte

Builder of the Year was awarded to Jimi Smith Feliciano, AJF Construction. Jimi has been involved with the CDBIA for over 10 years. After becoming President of AJF Construction he joined the CDBIA board of Directors. Since Hurricane Ian, Jimi has focused on rebuilding our community helping many people be able to move back into their homes after they were devastated.

Associate of the Year was awarded to Cindy Marsh Tichy, Coldwell Banker Sunstar Realty. Cindy first joined the CDBIA to be able to get up to date information to pass to her customers. She quickly joined the Professional Women in Building Council and SWFL Parade of Homes Committee. She is active in all events and in 2024 she will be serving as the CDBIA Secretary.

Sub-Contractor of the Year was presented to Custom Pools by Precision. Rich grew up in the pool business and Trena and Rich have always put their team first. They joined the CDBIA and immediately got invested helping lead and mentor. While their business focuses on new construction, they helped many customers who were dealing with pool cracks after the storm.

The Top Spike for 2023 is Bill Truex, Truex Preferred Construction. The Spike Club is a committee at the National Association of Home Builders. Locally members attain spike points when recruiting and retaining members to the CDBIA family. Bill earned 15 spike points this year for recruiting and 40.75 total.

The Young Building Professionals award was presented to Jennifer Cirella, Calista Kitchen & Bath. Jennifer is Chair of the CDBIA NextGen Council. She has helped organized events that have helped nonprofit organizations, and organizing fundraisers to help Hardhats for Hardships. She also hired a PWB Scholarship Recipient this summer to help mentor and created a great passion for our industry.

Kris Proudfoot, Chair of the CDBIA Professional Women in Building presented Carrie Walsh, Director of Charlotte County Human Services with the PWB Champion in Building Award. Carrie has worked hard to both reduce barriers to development of affordable housing for builders and developers along with incentivizing affordable housing. In addition to her work with affordable housing, Carrie and her department work with a coalition of non-profits in the county to provide assistance to those who are struggling – especially post Hurricane Ian. Carrie was born and raised in our community and has made it her passion to continue making Charlotte County a better place.

Nikki Davis, Reprotech Copying Center was the proud recipient of the CDBIA Circle of Excellence award which is presented to one CDBIA associate member for doing a high percentage of business with CDBIA members and utilizing the benefits of their membership from Charlotte– DeSoto Building Industry Association, Florida Home Builders Association and National Association of Home Builders and sharing information about the CDBIA on social media. Nikki is a star member,  promoting the CDBIA, being engaged In the CDBIA PWB and NextGen Council to activetly helping members with ways to promote their business.

P.A.L.M. is an acronym for Professionals Actively Leading & Mentoring. This award is given to a leader who dedicates countless hours of time, talents and treasures to the students, the future of the building industry. This year’s P.A.L.M. Award was presented to Coach Jordan Ingman, Port Charlotte High School. Coach Ingman has dedicated time off the field to many of the football players to open up conversations about careers in construction. For years, the building industry has seen many of his players become leaders in the building industry. His compassion and dedication to his players, trying to help them land lucrative careers in construction has changed the lives of many of his players.

President’s Award was presented to Jim Weisberg Quality Homes by Adam Riley, LTD Contracting

Member of the Year was presented to Shan Swelland, Safeguard Contracting. Shan had joined the CDBIA about 7 years ago. In 2020, Shan started Safeguard Contracting. When the CDBIA needed a builder director, he stepped up to help us lead. He has helped represent us in vital meetings locally, at FHBA and NAHB and attends all of our events.

In memory of one of the leaders of the CDBIA, the E. Jay Carlson Award was presented this year to Suzanne Graham, Massey Services. Suzanne Graham has been a driving force of the building industry in Charlotte County, state of Florida and nationally.  In 2005, Suzanne was installed as the first woman president of the CDBIA, shattering the glass ceiling for women in construction. In 2012-13 Suzanne served as the President of Florida Home Builders Association. She continues to serve as the CDBIA Governmental Affairs Chair and Charlotte DeSoto Building Industry PAC Chair. Suzanne is the top spike, overall and continues to support and grow our CDBIA family. Suzanne is the Swiss-Army knife of the construction industry who will always reach out to help a new member and add the historic value that keeps our industry growing.


Please help us congratulate our winners. For more information about the CDBIA the 2023 awards winners, please visit